Plaster hand cast
Plaster hand cast

Hello! So my class assignment for this week was to make a plaster sand casting of my hand. In order to this you pretty much had to go the beach for this mini project. It actually was a pretty good excuse to the beach, I have only been to the beach a couple of times this summer and of course the beach is the go to spot during the summer. Doing this was pretty relaxing and a good time considering the fact it’s always nice to go to the beach during the summer. I decided to take my younger cousin Claudia since she’s pretty much obsessed with the beach so it was perfect. We brought beach towels, as well the tools needed for the project, and some water to hydrate on that hot day. The day I ended up going was Saturday, September 5th. When we first got to Mothers Beach we brought a mini shovel and started to dig a hole near the shore but not to close of course. Then my cousin helped to bury my hand in the hole and I let it sit so it wouldn’t break. After I took my hand out we dumped the plaster into the bucket and used the player container to gather water to put in the bucket. We stirred it up pretty vigorously and poured it in time for it not to harden lucky enough . We waited and relaxed, listened to music and put our feet in the water. The lifeguard ended up coming by and was interested in what we we were up too. He thought it was pretty cool we had to do an assignment like this one and I agreed. After about 30 minutes we slowly but surely dug up the hand casting. I was more than happy to see it, it was a lot heavier and solid then I thought it would be. After we got a good enough picture me and my cousin decided to go get an acai bowl from nekter and it was a pretty satisfying morning I have to say.

